STEVENS COUNTY, MINNESOTA

DATE: **April 5, 2022**

RESOLUTION NO. 36

Motion by Commissioner Ennen

Seconded by Commissioner Kopitzke

RESOLUTION 220405-36 FOR ADOPTION OF COUNTY COMMISSIONER DISTRCITS

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes Chapter 375 established the procedure and requires a process for redistricting County Commissioner districts based on population figures from the Federal Census; and

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statute section 204B.135, subd. 2 requires that County Commissioner Districts be redistricted within 80 days of when the legislature has been redistricted or at least 15 weeks before the state primary election, whichever comes first; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to these statutes the 2020 Federal Census population figures shall be used to redistrict the Stevens County Commissioner Districts by April 26th, 2022, and that Commissioner Districts shall be bounded by town, municipal, ward, city district, or precinct lines; and,

WHEREAS, the Stevens County Board of Commissioners has considered the possibility or potential for maximizing minority representation on the board of commissioners; and,

WHEREAS, Stevens County published a three week notice in the newspaper having the contract for publishing the commissioner's proceedings for the county for 2022; and,

WHEREAS, Stevens County conducted a public meeting on redistricting on April 5, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Stevens County Board of Commissioners hereby redistricts the County of Stevens, following town, municipal, ward, city district, or precinct lines as reestablished in April 2022, and reestablishes the length of terms as follows:

District 1 – City of Morris Precinct 2 (4-year term, 2022 Election)

District 2 – City of Donnelly, City of Alberta, Hodges Township, Framnas Township, Swan Lake Township, Rendsville Township, Donnelly Township, Eldorado Township, Everglade Township, Pepperton Township, Scott Township (4-year term, 2022 Election)

District 3 - City of Chokio, City of Hancock, Baker Township, Stevens Township, Synnes Township, Horton Township, Moore Township (continuation of current term, 2024 Election)

District 4 - City of Morris Precinct 3, Darnen Township (continuation of current term, 2024 Election)

District 5 - City of Morris Precinct 1, Morris Township (4-year term, 2022 Election)

BE IT RESOLVED that the County Administrator is directed to file the redistricting plan with the County Auditor by May 3rd, 2022, to be effective on June 3, 2022, for the 2022 primary and general election and publish in the Stevens County Times.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the districts are, for illustrative purposes, identified in a map of the county

Staples	Aye	Ennen	Aye	Wohlers	Aye
Kopitzke	Aye	Wiese	Aye	ante an sans par l 2	

STATE OF MINNESOTA)

) ss. COUNTY OF STEVENS)

I, Rebecca Young, County Administrator and Clerk To The Board, for the County of Stevens, State of Minnesota, do hereby certify that I have compared the foregoing copy of a resolution with the original minutes of the proceedings of the Board of County Commissioners, Stevens County, Minnesota at their session held on the 5th day of April, 2022, now stored electronically on the County's M-Files storage system, and have found the same to be a true and correct copy thereof.

Rebecca Young, County Administrate

Document Number: 222964 Filed: April 18, 2022 Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon