## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS GOODHUE COUNTY, MINNESOTA

Date: April 5, 2022

Moved by C/Drotos, seconded by C/Greseth, and carried to approve the following resolution for option 2 in the staff report for County Commissioner Districts:

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statues Chapter 375 establishes the procedure and requires a process for redistricting County Commissioner districts based on population figures from the Federal Census; and,

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statute section 204B.135, subd. 2 requires that County Commissioner Districts be redistricted within 80 days of when the legislature has been redistricted or at least 15 weeks before the state primary elections, whichever comes first; and,

WHEREAS, pursuant to these statutes the 2020 Federal Census population figures shall be used to redistrict the Goodhue County Commissioner Districts by April 26, 2022, and that Commissioner Districts shall be bounded by town, municipal, ward, city district or precinct lines; and,

WHEREAS, the Goodhue County Board of Commissioners has considered the possibility or potential for maximizing minority representation on the board of commissioners; and,

WHEREAS, Goodhue County published a three week notice in the newspaper having the contract for publishing the commissioner's proceedings for the county for 2022; and,

WHEREAS, Goodhue County conducted a public meeting on redistricting on April 5, 2022:

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Goodhue County Board of Commissioners hereby redistricts the County of Goodhue, following town, municipal, ward, city district, or precinct lines as reestablished in April, 2022 and reestablishes the length of terms as follows:

- District 1 City of Red Wing Ward 1 Precinct 1 and 2, City of Red Wing Ward 2 Precinct 1 and 2, Welch Township
  (continuation of current term, 2024 Election)
- District 2 Belle Creek Township, City of Cannon Falls Precinct 1 and 2, Cannon Falls Township, Featherstone Township, Leon Township, Minneola Township, Stanton Township, Vasa Township
  (4-year term, 2022 Election)
- District 3 Cherry Grove Township, City of Dennison, Holden Township, City of Kenyon, Kenyon Township, City of Pine Island, Pine Island Township, Roscoe Township, City of Wanamingo, Wanamingo Township, Warsaw Township (continuation of current term, 2024 Election)
- District 4 City of Bellechester, Belvidere Township, Florence Township, City of Goodhue, Goodhue Township, Hay Creek Township, City of Lake City, City of Zumbrota Precinct 1 and 2, Zumbrota Township (4-year term, 2022 Election)

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS GOODHUE COUNTY, MINNESOTA

April 5, 2022

District 5 - City of Red Wing Ward 3 Precinct 1 and 2, City of Red Wing Ward 4 Precinct 1 and 2, Wacouta Township (continuation of current term, 2024 Election)

BE IT RESOLVED that the County Administrator is directed to file the redistricting plan with the County Auditor by May 3, 2022, to be effective on June 3, 2022, for the 2022 primary and general election and publish in the Zumbrota News-Record.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the districts are, for illustrative purposes, identified in a map of the county attached hereto and Marked Exhibit A which by reference is hereby made a part hereof.

Document Number: 222965 Filed: April 18, 2022 Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon

## State of Minnesota County of Goodhue

Majerus	Yes X	No
Drotos	Yes X	No
Greseth	Yes X	No
Anderson	Yes X	No
Flanders	Yes X	No _

I, Scott O. Arneson, duly appointed, County Administrator of the County of Goodhue, State of Minnesota, do hereby certify that I have compared the foregoing copy of a resolution with the original minutes of the proceedings of the Board of County Commissioners, Goodhue County, Minnesota at their session held on the 5<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2022, now on file in my office, and have found the same to be a true and correct copy thereof.

Witness my hand and official seal at Red Wing, Minnesota, this 5<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2022.

Scott O. Arneson County Administrator

